Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

no spark at cranking 75' 450sl

14K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Canuck 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm a newbie. I have a 107 D-jet that was running when I put it in the barn last year. Had a long history of running fine for 1/2 hr. and then sputtering. If at highway speed would completely die. Tried fuel direct to intake with no response. Next morning starts right up, running smoothly. Sat at a mechanic's for a year and no resolution.

Anyway, back to the barn. I decided to completely clean the fuel system, including tank and replace all hoses. Tried starting with no response. Sprayed starter fluid, no response. Cleaned every electrical connection/ground and replaced all fuses. No luck.

Checked power to coil with key on. Hot on both sides, hot on both sides of both resistors and hot on both sides of terminals just below resistors. Cleaned distributor cap, rotor and points. Installed tester light in coil lead to distributor and manually twisted rotor back and forth over dist. lobe to make/break points and tester light responded accordingly. Put the cap back on and got initial spark when attempting key start, nothing while cranking and then a spark when turning off key. I'm beginning to focus on the ignition switch but thought I would ask for input before I start throwing parts at the project. I live in Nova Scotia, right on the water, so the cars see a lot of humidity.

I have ordered a Pertronix 1885 which Pertronix technical staff says is the right unit. I don't expect this to correct my problem. My thinking here is it buys peace of mind. I've got a bucket of plugs and points from change out over the years. I had a number of these cars at one point. Now it's just this one and a 72' 107 [and it's not starting either] I might point out that having a number of these didn't help much in the knowledge department so if you respond please assume that I need tutoring!

Thanks, Don

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)