BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Sep 2011
Vehicle: 1988 560SL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
560SL Idles Rough When Warm

I have an 88 560SL that I purchased from my neighbor last September. I had been driving it off and on for about 6 months, and then about a month ago it started acting wierd. The engine has about 180k on it and it was running like a bat out of hell before the wierdness. I'm pretty familiar with cars and how the different components operate, but this car is a bit different than anything I've owned in the past. When I start it up when it's cold it runs great, but after about 90-120 seconds, it starts running very rough, the economy guage goes way to the right and it appears like a vacum leak, I've checked the hoses and they are fine, although I'm going to replace all of them in the near future for GP. What I'm trying to figure out is what component "changes it state" when it gets warm. After reading a bunch of posts here, I have replaced the plugs, wires, coolant switch, and finally the coil, and the problem persists. I'm not sure if this is fuel related or not, I've seen some posts about fuel pumps potentially causing this issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm kinda stuck and I don't have a money tree to keep swaping out parts.

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 06-10-2012, 06:39 PM
GMB
BenzWorld Senior Member

Date registered: Nov 2011
Vehicle: 1988 560 SL
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Could it be related to the fuel injection system? My car's rough idle turned out to be a symptom of just that. Had the 25-year-old parts replaced and it runs beautifully now.
#3 (permalink) Old 06-10-2012, 10:41 PM
Lifetime Premium Member

Date registered: Jan 2011
Vehicle: Present Stable = '09 CLS 550, '88 560SL ,'06 LR3 HSE, '14 GMC Sierra Denali
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member