Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

560sl vacuum actuator/pod defroster

10K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  rockcrusher 
#1 ·
I am providing this description in the hope it will assist others in their efforts to understand and repair these types of problems. I am not a Mercedes expert so anyone that would like to comment on this do so in hopes that we can create a more definitive process for various repair or replacement options.

My car 1987 560SL but it is the same on many other 107 chassis.

After reading tons of posts on the various boards, I decided to tackle replacing my vacuum pod (part# A000 800 32 75).

How I determined that the pod was bad.

I purchased a vacuum gauge (mighty mite) for about $29.00 at Pep Boys. I used this gauge to test the vacuum going into the switchover valve (part#A107 800 22 78.) Then I removed the vacuum tubes from each port sequentially and tested the vacuum tube that went to that port by using the Mighty Mite to draw a vacuum on each tube. I found that the one going to the defroster flap control numbered 38 on my diagram held no vacuum.
Defroster pod/actuator removal.

At that point I removed the radio and it's mount that allowed me access to the upper right part of the vacuum pod. I removed the input to the upper port and tested directly on the vacuum pod itself and could not draw a vacuum.

Now knowing the culprit I set out trying to figure out how to get it out.

There are many approaches that I have read about and I looked at the possibility of using the ones I had seen. In the end I settled for the following which differed from most all.