Has anyone here had any experience with "Crucial" Ram? - Page 2 - Mercedes-Benz Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:06 PM
DP
Moderator
 
DP's Avatar
 
Date registered: Aug 2002
Vehicle: 190E, 400E, SLK350
Location: Chesapeak Bay
Posts: 64,125
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonet View Post
^ Drew, please seriously, keep out of this one... please? I need an answer, I'm about to buy it.

You know I love you : <3
faggot:gay: I am taken
DP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBLR View Post
I have the Ballistix memory in the computer I am using right on online here....

I use to buy it from PC computers supply before they went down memory lane

No problems with it been working good.
Just a question, whats the difference between Ballistix, and the normal crucial? Is it just the heatsink on it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #13 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:09 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonet View Post
O, and just one last thing, I've asked this before, but no reply, just some random off subject spam.

Which one is HONESTLY better?

A) 2 X 1GB 800 Mhz or...
B) 1 X 2GB 800 Mhz...

(Forget the whole "you need more space in the future etc.") I just want to really know which one is better. I heard having 2 x 1 GB in dual will run faster due to it having 800 MHz per 1GB instead of 800 MHz per 2GB's.

So HONESTLY, which one is a better option to choose?

Thanks!!
Heh someone is yanking your chain there if there is any speed differents it certainly will not be something you will ever beable to see........
MBLR is offline  
post #14 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:10 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonet View Post
Just a question, whats the difference between Ballistix, and the normal crucial? Is it just the heatsink on it?
The Heat Sinks........ for a machine like mine that never gets powered down except for its once a month cleaning heat is the number one killer of longtivity
MBLR is offline  
post #15 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:20 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you are building a Game machine and plan to Overclock it and run it hard the key is cooling.

Also Here is the Memory I use now that I like the constrution better and the pricing is right in line. < Welcome to Corsair > the heat sinks on theses rock!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo2.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	64.7 KB
ID:	228784  
MBLR is offline  
post #16 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBLR View Post
The Heat Sinks........ for a machine like mine that never gets powered down except for its once a month cleaning heat is the number one killer of longtivity
O cool Don't worry then, I can get heat speaders here for like a buck each. thanks guys, I just purchased it.

Much love <3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #17 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
O... Forgot the most important thing to ask, do I need to reinstall my OS after I installed the ram? Will I get blue screened if I just slot it in? Any guides/tips on how to without reinstalling OS, as I have over 200 gig's of data stored and I really have no time to sit here backing it up etc.

Thanks a million guys! <3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #18 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:33 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonet View Post
O... Forgot the most important thing to ask, do I need to reinstall my OS after I installed the ram? Will I get blue screened if I just slot it in? Any guides/tips on how to without reinstalling OS, as I have over 200 gig's of data stored and I really have no time to sit here backing it up etc.

Thanks a million guys! <3
No.......... just will need to update the bios setting if it is not done automaticly............ just make sure the Ram is installed with care fully seated in the slot and do make sure you power sown the system and disconect the power cord. No kidding I know someone who did not turn off the freaking computer and they plugged ram in........ actualy they were very lucky they only fried the ram modules and the rest of the computer was fine.
MBLR is offline  
post #19 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBLR View Post
No.......... just will need to update the bios setting if it is not done automaticly............ just make sure the Ram is installed with care fully seated in the slot and do make sure you power sown the system and disconect the power cord. No kidding I know someone who did not turn off the freaking computer and they plugged ram in........ actualy they were very lucky they only fried the ram modules and the rest of the computer was fine.
Haha, yeah, that happened to me once in my noob days... I "thought" I slotted it in right and 10 seconds after powering it up, I felt dizzy and almost past out from the burning smell of the Ram modules It felt good… But no need to worry, it was back in the “128mb SD-RAM” days.

Thanks MBLR, you’ve helped a lot! Greatly appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #20 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-22-2009, 06:52 PM
Surely A Large Human
 
Qubes's Avatar
 
Date registered: Jun 2006
Vehicle: '08 C219
Location: Between Earth and Mars
Posts: 34,252
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
I put Crucial memory updates in both of my Macs, and have had zero issues with it so far (about 6 months). Newegg.com FTW.
Qubes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Mercedes-Benz Forums > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Mercedes-Benz Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











  • Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page
    Display Modes
    Linear Mode Linear Mode



    Similar Threads
    Topic Author Forum Replies Last Post
    "lifetime sealed transmission" and your fluid change experience? one.bofh General Mercedes-Benz 12 01-20-2007 09:16 AM
    1st experience with "Certified Pre-own" funnyguy1 General Mercedes-Benz 10 01-14-2007 06:31 AM
    Anyone have any experience with the "new" Michelin Pilot Sport All Season tires? Geoff R170 SLK-Class 5 09-18-2003 09:28 AM
    Anyone experience an occasional "headlights go dim" all of a sudden thing?... cgeorge430 W163 M-Class 11 10-18-2002 02:44 PM

    Posting Rules  
    You may post new threads
    You may post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On

     

    Title goes here

    close
    video goes here
    description goes here. Read Full Story
    For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome