A Question About Ram? - Page 3 - Mercedes-Benz Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 07:54 PM
DP
Moderator
 
DP's Avatar
 
Date registered: Aug 2002
Vehicle: 190E, 400E, SLK350
Location: Chesapeak Bay
Posts: 64,125
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonet View Post
No seriously guys... c'mon please, I'm looking at the site now, I'm confused... anyone that knows about technical IT here?
DP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 08:00 PM
Moderately subtle
 
edfreeman's Avatar
 
Date registered: Dec 2003
Vehicle: 94 E500, 97 500SL
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Posts: 8,526
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Send a message via AIM to edfreeman
I love these tech threads.

BTW, which browser, Safari or Opera?

edfreeman is offline  
post #23 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 08:02 PM
Forum Administrator RC Colas® & Moon Pies®
 
Digmenow's Avatar
 
Date registered: Oct 2006
Vehicle: 1981 380SL 151K: 2001 E320 4Matic Estate 147K: 2008 E350 Sport 4Matic 120K: 2005 S500 116K
Location: The Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 36,514
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonet View Post
Assholes... C'mon one of you must know about Ram, I mean, most of you here are post junkies... Like 20k+ yet know nothing about PC's?
I just drive 'm. I don't know what makes 'em go.


Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Digmenow is offline  
post #24 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
great... thanks guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #25 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewprof View Post
Ok ok... Now that was funny!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #26 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-19-2009, 10:11 AM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 97SL500R129, 01ML320W163, 94E320W124 & 93500EW124
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonet View Post
Which one is better overall:

- 4x1GB DDR2 800Mhz
- 2x2GB DDR2 800Mhz

I would think the 4 x 1 GB 800 MHz would, considering each ram card has 800mhz, that’s more than the 2x2gb 800mhz. Because it’s either 800x4 or 800x2. Basically, each gig will run at 800 MHz of speed if I chose the 4x1 set up, the 2gig set up will run 2gigs at 800 MHz.

Correct?
The speed of the two configurations are the same at 800MHZ with the same 4GB total RAM. The 2x2GB configuration is more advantageous (faster) because it only occupies 2 memory banks (instead of 4 with 4x1GB.) As such, the CPU would search for data within 2 memory banks instead of 4. Which, in turn makes the calculation a little faster.

Hope this help.

Last edited by edcarls; 03-19-2009 at 10:13 AM.
edcarls is offline  
post #27 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-19-2009, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by edcarls View Post
The speed of the two configurations are the same at 800MHZ with the same 4GB total RAM. The 2x2GB configuration is more advantageous (faster) because it only occupies 2 memory banks (instead of 4 with 4x1GB.) As such, the CPU would search for data within 2 memory banks instead of 4.

Hope this help.
Wow... Wooow.... WOW! somebody ACTUALLY gave a mature reply! Thank you guy!

PS: It's a Q6600 3.0ghz - Will it still be a problem? 4x1gb of course. I just heard they run better transfering 1GB of data at 800mhz instead of 2GB at 800mhz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #28 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-19-2009, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
^^ Better off, someone actually replied to the question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
post #29 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-19-2009, 10:31 AM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Aug 2006
Vehicle: 97SL500R129, 01ML320W163, 94E320W124 & 93500EW124
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
3.0ghz is the speed of your processor (CPU), 800mhz is the speed of your RAM and GB is size of the RAM. In your case the overall speed (or Transfer rate) is 800mhz on both 1GB or 2GB. The 2GB transfer rate may be a bit slower if the configuration is 2x1gb meaning 2 1GB's occupies 2 memory bank.

The speed difference is barely noticeable unless you are using it for CAD or other Graphic authoring application.
edcarls is offline  
post #30 of 44 (permalink) Old 03-19-2009, 10:36 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
Zonet's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
^^ thanks the reply. The only reason I mentioned the CPU is becuase you said that the CPU man be used trying to search the ram slots etc etc. Thats why I asked if it will be a problem.

anyways, what do you suggest out of the three? Kingston ValueRAM, Transcend or Crucial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker-1999 S600 View Post
the comparison between a V8 and a V12 isn't a decision, it's an opportunity.
Zonet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Mercedes-Benz Forums > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Mercedes-Benz Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











  • Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page
    Display Modes
    Linear Mode Linear Mode



    Similar Threads
    Topic Author Forum Replies Last Post
    Resealing Tip Ram treebogan Unimog 1 07-18-2012 10:30 AM
    E-Ram Air Intakes Ivan820 W201 190-Class 15 10-04-2008 07:50 AM
    Bonnet Ram SLK170 antmez R170 SLK-Class 1 07-09-2008 08:43 AM
    RAM air intake supermoose W201 190-Class 4 06-29-2004 10:58 AM
    Leaking hydraulic ram Fanger R170 SLK-Class 4 03-23-2004 05:43 PM

    Posting Rules  
    You may post new threads
    You may post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On

     

    Title goes here

    close
    video goes here
    description goes here. Read Full Story
    For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome