Vista help - Page 2 - Mercedes-Benz Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 01:06 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanStar View Post
Sure, now execute a cold open of Photoshop 10 and time it. With Dreamweaver, Quickbooks and the Mercedes WIS already open, it times out at about 6 seconds for me.

Ever keep 6 or 8 resource hungry apps open at the same time? I don't have 8G of ram, I only have 4.

Yes, GS, pigs can fly too.

Have you ever tried to configure your Photoshop on both XP and Vista on the same computer before running tests?

Here is Tom's hardware benchmark article on Vista vs XP performance:

Windows XP vs. Vista: The Benchmark Rundown : Is Windows Vista Faster Than XP? - Tom's Hardware


As of 8G address space, it is not even worth discussion.

Only 64-bit version of Vista can use 8G of RAM.

There are NO consumer apps I know of which can take advantage of the 64-bit address space.

There will be 32-bit emulator running, and Photoshop, for instance, will only use 3G out of 8.
maine_coon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 01:12 PM
Administratoris Emeritus
 
GeeS's Avatar
 
Date registered: Aug 2002
Vehicle: 2021 SL770
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 44,915
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
I'm sorry, I missed where you posted your time. I only caught the part about how my experience that my Vista desktop is several times faster than my XP desktop and my XP laptop is either a drug-induced hallucination or I'm just a liar.

"If spending money you don't have is the height of stupidity, borrowing money to give it away is the height of insanity." -- anon
GeeS is offline  
post #13 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 01:28 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Jul 2007
Vehicle: 1973 450 SL
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 5,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Two different people told me that Vista doesn't use more than 3 gig of memory. Like large breasts anything above that is a waste.

Forget wiping Vista to install XP. You will apparently lack appropriate drivers.

I'd switch back in a New York minute if I could.

Charter member of the Vast Rightwing Conspiracy and proud of it.

God Bless the America we're trying to create.
--Hillary Rodham Clinton
bottomline1 is offline  
post #14 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 01:33 PM
Administratoris Emeritus
 
GeeS's Avatar
 
Date registered: Aug 2002
Vehicle: 2021 SL770
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 44,915
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
I believe that figure is 4, at least in regard to the 32-bit version:

Quote:
If More RAM is Better, is a Lot More RAM Even Better?

Short answer, no. If a PC is installed with 4GB of system memory, the computer itself will register 4GB but Windows Vista/XP will not be able to recognize it all. It's nothing to fret over, this is a normal limitation with 32 bit operating systems. The operating system will report 3.5GB or so, but the "missing memory" (varies between 500MB-750MB) is there, reserved for hardware devices.
And you said "switch back". Does that mean you installed Vista on a PC originally equipped with Vista? If so, I would agree, that was not a good move.

"If spending money you don't have is the height of stupidity, borrowing money to give it away is the height of insanity." -- anon
GeeS is offline  
post #15 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:31 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanStar View Post
I'm sorry, I missed where you posted your time. I only caught the part about how my experience that my Vista desktop is several times faster than my XP desktop and my XP laptop is either a drug-induced hallucination or I'm just a liar.
GS, I posted a link to the article where lot of apps were tested on both XP and Vista using the same hardware. You can dispute results all you want, for the rest of the world they are good.

I participated in Vista from the beta stage, I have multiboot on several machines with both XP and Vista. I can assure you that Vista is much slower all other things being equal.

You are happy with Vista and it several times faster for you than equal XP, excellent.

But please don't confuse others , they might believe you.

As of you being hallucinating or just a liar, I am sure you can figure it out yourself. I happen to think that you are in love and can't give the correct estimate, but I might be wrong.
maine_coon is offline  
post #16 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:33 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanStar View Post
Does that mean you installed Vista on a PC originally equipped with Vista? If so, I would agree, that was not a good move.
And what that supposed to mean?
maine_coon is offline  
post #17 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:39 PM
Administratoris Emeritus
 
GeeS's Avatar
 
Date registered: Aug 2002
Vehicle: 2021 SL770
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 44,915
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maine_coon View Post
GS, I posted a link to the article where lot of apps were tested on both XP and Vista using the same hardware. You can dispute results all you want, for the rest of the world they are good.
Which is idiotic, since the two OS have different optimum hardware requirements. Vista, installed on a machine designed for Vista, will out-perform XP on a machine designed for XP, no comparison. Further, Vista will out-perform XP on a machine designed for Vista. Of course, XP will out-perform Vista on a machine designed for XP. You would have to be nuts to install Vista on an XP PC. That is not an upgrade, it is a disaster in the making.

"If spending money you don't have is the height of stupidity, borrowing money to give it away is the height of insanity." -- anon
GeeS is offline  
post #18 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:41 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bottomline1 View Post
Two different people told me that Vista doesn't use more than 3 gig of memory. Like large breasts anything above that is a waste.

Forget wiping Vista to install XP. You will apparently lack appropriate drivers.

I'd switch back in a New York minute if I could.
Any device that works under Vista will work under XP. The opposite is not true. Wiping out Vista and installing XP might require some efforts and (soul) driver searching, but is perfectly doable. There is nothing in Vista that did not exist in XP SP2.
maine_coon is offline  
post #19 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:46 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Date registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanStar View Post
Which is idiotic, since the two OS have different hardware requirements. Vista, installed on a machine designed for Vista, will out-perform XP on a machine designed for XP, no comparison. Further, Vista will out-perform XP on a machine designed for Vista. Of course, XP will out-perform Vista on a machine designed for XP. You would have to be nuts to install Vista on an XP PC. That is not an upgrade, it is a disaster in the making.
GS, stick to the stuff you know please.

You are making a fool of yourself calling names where you have no idea what the hell you are talking about.

I assembled hundreds of PCs in my life.

There is no such thing as Vista-designed PC or XP-designed PC, I hope you will understand one day.

At this level arguing with you is pretty much useless.

As of being an idiot, I hope you have a mirror not too far away.
maine_coon is offline  
post #20 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:58 PM
Administratoris Emeritus
 
GeeS's Avatar
 
Date registered: Aug 2002
Vehicle: 2021 SL770
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 44,915
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
OK then, tell me how a PC equipped with 8G is ram is the perfect vessel for XP. Then you can tell me how a PC that cannot manage more than 1G of ram is the ideal vessel for Vista. Please don't respond by suggesting that either is better suited for one OS or the other, since you have already ridiculed that notion.

BTW, I suggested that the comparison was idiotic, you responded with an unprovoked personal attack and name-calling. If that and petty bickering are all you've got, maybe you should give it a rest, expert.

"If spending money you don't have is the height of stupidity, borrowing money to give it away is the height of insanity." -- anon
GeeS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Mercedes-Benz Forums > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Mercedes-Benz Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











  • Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page
    Display Modes
    Linear Mode Linear Mode



    Similar Threads
    Topic Author Forum Replies Last Post
    WIS/EPC and Vista Benzboy210 W210 E-Class 7 04-23-2009 03:36 AM
    First impression of Vista ThrillKill Off-Topic 33 07-12-2008 11:03 PM
    Vista Access DP Off-Topic 1 05-26-2008 01:28 PM
    Windows Vista GeeS Off-Topic 32 01-13-2008 11:20 AM
    Anybody using Microsoft Vista yet? KamiL Off-Topic 86 06-28-2007 10:51 PM

    Posting Rules  
    You may post new threads
    You may post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On

     

    Title goes here

    close
    video goes here
    description goes here. Read Full Story
    For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome