Building New System - Page 2 - Mercedes-Benz Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-15-2008, 08:16 PM
~BANNED~
 
Date registered: Sep 2004
Vehicle: 2002 clk320
Location: Lancaster, Kentucky
Posts: 8,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
heey MLBR

don't listen to anyone but me, buy a mac, and you will be happy.
the clk man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-15-2008, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by the clk man View Post
don't listen to anyone but me, buy a mac, and you will be happy.
All new software....... no more freebies...... nobody I know has macs or the goodies for em. It certainly would be a strange new world without my ACad 2007 I'll be up the shit creek in no time and outta work along with it....Happy?
MBLR is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-15-2008, 08:25 PM
~BANNED~
 
Date registered: Sep 2004
Vehicle: 2002 clk320
Location: Lancaster, Kentucky
Posts: 8,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Macs are the way to go, the main stream are like drones.
the clk man is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-15-2008, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by the clk man View Post
Macs are the way to go, the main stream are like drones.
yeah but SoftWare! I'll have to start all over and that will cost me more than the entire system loaded to the hilt would!

I been around the "IBM Clone" thing since my start in the computerized world, Know where to get what I need to do what I do (Project Engineering) have nearly 100k in sofware thats for the "IBM clones" maybe more because VeraCad is a 20k program by it self..... I know Macs have absolutly fantastic vids output but you see 98 percent of my sector is IBM Clones driven so every plant that I go to I need to be able to hook up my laptop and work with their system and connect to my Server at home at the same time....So if I went with mac it would a totaly incompatible system with my worksites.
MBLR is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-16-2008, 07:32 AM
Will Moderate For Cigars
 
cmitch's Avatar
 
Date registered: Apr 2005
Vehicle: 2002 ML320, 2005 S430 4MATIC, 2010 F150 Crew Cab
Location: City on the TN River
Posts: 10,691
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBLR View Post
yeah but SoftWare! I'll have to start all over and that will cost me more than the entire system loaded to the hilt would!

I been around the "IBM Clone" thing since my start in the computerized world, Know where to get what I need to do what I do (Project Engineering) have nearly 100k in sofware thats for the "IBM clones" maybe more because VeraCad is a 20k program by it self..... I know Macs have absolutly fantastic vids output but you see 98 percent of my sector is IBM Clones driven so every plant that I go to I need to be able to hook up my laptop and work with their system and connect to my Server at home at the same time....So if I went with mac it would a totaly incompatible system with my worksites.
Macs are dual bootable, meaning, you can install Windows XP or Vista on your Mac and run your Windows software on it. Also, any software you buy for Windows is also available for Mac, so, if you need to buy Microsoft Office 2007, you could buy MacOffice 2008 and it would have more features than it's Windows counterpart.
Also, the myth continues to be spread that Macs are completely incompatible with Windows based work stations. Not so. I have 5 Macs networked with 5 Windows machines at our workplace. We have no issues at all. I also bought iWork '08 which includes Pages, Keynote and Numbers. All these applications open Microsoft Office documents the same way they were set up in Microsoft Word, Excel or Power Point. Also, iWork saves any document as a PDF, Word (for word processing), Excel (for spreadsheets) and Powerpoint. You can trade files back and forth between these two softwares with your Windows counterparts. The only issue I've seen is that you have to own the same fonts the person used to set up the document, but that's a no brainer and that issue will occur between Windows users, so that is not a Win to Mac issue and it's easily solved by getting the font file from the person who sends you the file. Below is an example of exporting a Pages document to the desktop for .doc files:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PagestoWord.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	162780  

2005 S430 4Matic 'Morton' W220.183 • 722.671 Rest in Peace

Bells and whistles are thorns and thistles.
cmitch is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-16-2008, 07:43 AM
worst mod in BW history
 
ThrillKill's Avatar
 
Date registered: Apr 2005
Vehicle: ML CLK Iridescent Hyundai Accent lol,GoPed Freightshaker & Volvo semi's, c'mawn?
Location: Chicago
Posts: 27,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by the clk man View Post
Just buy a Macintosh I have been using them for almost 20 years, and you would be surprised.
Or build a crackentosh. That way you can still play Windows based games.

ThrillKill is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-16-2008, 11:44 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmitch View Post
Macs are dual bootable, meaning, you can install Windows XP or Vista on your Mac and run your Windows software on it. Also, any software you buy for Windows is also available for Mac, so, if you need to buy Microsoft Office 2007, you could buy MacOffice 2008 and it would have more features than it's Windows counterpart.
Also, the myth continues to be spread that Macs are completely incompatible with Windows based work stations. Not so. I have 5 Macs networked with 5 Windows machines at our workplace. We have no issues at all. I also bought iWork '08 which includes Pages, Keynote and Numbers. All these applications open Microsoft Office documents the same way they were set up in Microsoft Word, Excel or Power Point. Also, iWork saves any document as a PDF, Word (for word processing), Excel (for spreadsheets) and Powerpoint. You can trade files back and forth between these two softwares with your Windows counterparts. The only issue I've seen is that you have to own the same fonts the person used to set up the document, but that's a no brainer and that issue will occur between Windows users, so that is not a Win to Mac issue and it's easily solved by getting the font file from the person who sends you the file. Below is an example of exporting a Pages document to the desktop for .doc files:
Sweet I did not know this I have not looked at anything Apple except the Ipods and Itouch that I like just about can not be without..... gotta put all my music somewhere so I can take it with me!
MBLR is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-17-2008, 04:59 AM
Forum Administrator RC Colas® & Moon Pies®
 
Digmenow's Avatar
 
Date registered: Oct 2006
Vehicle: 1981 380SL 151K: 2001 E320 4Matic Estate 147K: 2008 E350 Sport 4Matic 120K: 2005 S500 116K
Location: The Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 36,503
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 1273 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Garage
Apple has a couple of blockbuster new products they will be introducing soon...

The "Ibreathe" allows one to speak continuously for up to 2 hours without stopping for air. They're still working on a longer lasting battery as some of the earliest users suffered 'negative life' when they didn't have immediate access to an electrical outlet to recharge the unit. Talk about a killer app!





There's also the Up and Comer new Ibeat. It has a self lubricating catheter. Users have been ecstatic so far. Breakthrough new packaging is somewhat controversial, however.


Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Digmenow is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-17-2008, 08:01 AM
worst mod in BW history
 
ThrillKill's Avatar
 
Date registered: Apr 2005
Vehicle: ML CLK Iridescent Hyundai Accent lol,GoPed Freightshaker & Volvo semi's, c'mawn?
Location: Chicago
Posts: 27,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Howz a bout a beaver pc Compubeaver and a mouse mouse? Mouse Mouse! - Instructables - DIY, How To, art, tech

ThrillKill is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-14-2008, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite
 
MBLR's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2k SlK230 / 2KSlk320 / 2000 Toyota Tacoma, 95 Land Rover D90 (done) Now looking for a series IIA
Location: Utah-ha hah!
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Well it took some time (longer than I expected it to) check out everything availible to put together an new Computer system that will last me at least for 6 to 12 month and still be upgradable....

I checked out the Apple systems and found yeah they are very nice... excellent video displays and awesome hardware with all kinds of neat shit... Nobody sells or at least very little affter market hardware availible and you certainly can not purchase a case, Motherboard and build your own system to what you think you want...

So I ended up with the Ibm clone thing again.
Asus Maximus Formula Mother board.
4 gig Ram
Penryn dual core 3.0 GHZ bprocessor
Asus GrForce 8800 GT video card
500 watt power supply
Supper Cool Tower Case
Liquid Cooling system
1 Terabyte Hard Drive
Sound Blaster E sound card
and a bunch of extra goodies to keep me drooling for a day or two.
and A QBenz 24 inch LCD monitor.

So I know what I'm doing sunday....
MBLR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Mercedes-Benz Forums > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Mercedes-Benz Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











  • Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
     
    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page
    Display Modes
    Linear Mode Linear Mode



    Similar Threads
    Topic Author Forum Replies Last Post
    Shark Building AMPM R170 SLK-Class 9 08-01-2006 08:40 AM
    Building the first SLKs E-Klasse R170 SLK-Class 15 01-11-2006 07:32 AM
    Saw this building and..... COOL MEL R171 SLK-Class 5 01-05-2006 12:31 PM
    building in airco 190e 1.8 W201 190-Class 2 10-17-2004 05:34 AM
    I've started building my windscreen bodypainter R170 SLK-Class 17 04-27-2004 12:17 PM

    Posting Rules  
    You may post new threads
    You may post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On

     

    Title goes here

    close
    video goes here
    description goes here. Read Full Story
    For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome