BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Mar 2006
Vehicle: 1999 ML320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Staying in line

A tragic story no doubt.
I am not a doctor but giving a liver to a cancer patient ?
What if all liver transplant patients start protesting ?
How did this make national news ?

Why didn't the 150 "supporters" each contribute a grand or so and pay for the op ?
And the dear family, did they consider getting a mortgage ? Selling the family jewelry ? Stocks ?
Furniture ?
ABC News: Teen Tragedy Prompts Murder Allegations

Last edited by mlfun; 12-21-2007 at 02:52 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2007, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Mar 2006
Vehicle: 1999 ML320
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
On Thursday, the family rallied supporters online and staged a protest at Cigna's Glendale office with about 150 people, including many members of the local Armenian community and the California Nurses Assn., which had released statements supporting the family's cause.

Later in the day, Cigna released a statement approving the transplant payment.

"Although it is outside the scope of the plan's coverage, and despite the lack of medical evidence regarding the effectiveness of such treatment," spokesman Wendell Potter wrote, "Cigna HealthCare has decided to make an exception in this rare and unusual case

Last edited by mlfun; 12-21-2007 at 02:34 PM.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2007, 03:19 PM
Surely A Large Human

Date registered: Jun 2006
Vehicle: '08 C219
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Since nobody knows what you're talking about, let me help.

The Raw Story | Family of dead teen to sue insurer that dallied on liver transplant
California nurses group says insurer CIGNA has 'blood on their hands'