Computer- Related Question... - Page 3 - Mercedes-Benz Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-23-2007, 12:11 PM
BenzWorld Extremist
 
Misfit's Avatar
 
Date registered: Nov 2005
Vehicle: '09 B200, '05 Smart
Location: Ontario - Canada
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclasser
Hello everyone,

So today I decided I wanted to upgrade the RAM in one of my older computers, which came factory- installed with only 128 MB of RAM. I went out and bought another 128 MB and made sure it was the exact same specs as the original one. I installed it, and when I turned on the computer, there were no beeping noises to alert me of any errors. As soon as the computer booted up to the XP log in screen, it restarted itself, and it kept doing this until I got pissed and forced the damn thing to turn off. Could anyone tell me what the problem may be, is the RAM faulty, or is there something I did wrong? Thank You.
Before all of the above - as you are booting past the BIOS - press the DEL or F2 whatever key it tells you -

View the avail memeory in the sstem - if it correctly identifies 256 -press what ever keys it tells you to SAVE & EXIT
Misfit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-23-2007, 12:16 PM
DP
Moderator
 
DP's Avatar
 
Date registered: Aug 2002
Vehicle: 190E, 400E, SLK350
Location: Chesapeak Bay
Posts: 64,455
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 1125 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
^^
Excellent point, how did we all forget about that?
DP is offline  
post #23 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-23-2007, 12:40 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
FeelTheLove's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2004
Vehicle: 83 Astral Silver 280 SL
Location: Planet Houston
Posts: 28,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Just press the "any" key.

Recall that earlier generations faced down fascism and communism not just with missiles and tanks, but with sturdy alliances and enduring convictions. They understood that our power alone cannot protect us, nor does it entitle us to do as we please. Instead, they knew that our power grows through its prudent use; our security emanates from the justness of our cause, the force of our example, the tempering qualities of humility and restraint.

-President Barack Obama, 1st Inaugural address
FeelTheLove is offline  
post #24 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-23-2007, 02:58 PM
BenzWorld Elite
 
Check Codes's Avatar
 
Date registered: Mar 2005
Vehicle: '01-E320 & 02-ST2
Location: John 15:18-19
Posts: 31,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misfit
Before all of the above - as you are booting past the BIOS - press the DEL or F2 whatever key it tells you -

View the avail memeory in the sstem - if it correctly identifies 256 -press what ever keys it tells you to SAVE & EXIT
That's not going to help in this case....compaq loves their proprietary memory. Plus if you read into the thread he put the new stick by itself in the old one's place, still had the same issue.

Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy; its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery. (Winston Churchill)
Check Codes is offline  
post #25 of 25 (permalink) Old 07-24-2007, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Member
 
Date registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for all your responses guys. What I ended up doing was calling the company's tech support number, and the guy told me that the constant restarting meant that I had a defective piece of RAM. So I went to Micro Center, and swapped it out for another one, and it works fine now. I feel a noticeable difference in the start- up and application speeds. Most of you guys were saying that I should get another computer, and I can understand why. But the one I upgraded is not my primary computer, I have 2 other desktops with 1GB of RAM each, and a laptop with 2 GB of RAM, I simply wanted to make this computer a little more descent because it ran very sluggish before. Thanks for all your suggestions and responses!

- Mclasser
mclasser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Mercedes-Benz Forums > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Mercedes-Benz Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Topic Author Forum Replies Last Post
one more winch related question krisinak Unimog 18 02-13-2010 12:33 AM
Question for Colorado folks (not G related) TMV G-Class 15 01-12-2004 05:01 PM
Question for Germans - Not G related Mike G. G-Class 6 12-06-2003 02:24 PM
New to the forum - 240D-related question Guest (MBNZ) W123 E,CE,D,CD,TD,TE Class 2 06-24-2002 04:41 AM
Want the best background on your computer? (MB related) MB_Racer R170 SLK-Class 6 10-05-2001 05:13 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 

Title goes here

close
video goes here
description goes here. Read Full Story
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome