BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Oct 2005
Vehicle: 1991 420SEL, flirting with 200k
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to THEROG
(Thread Starter)
Hi everyone first time here

Hi this is my first time posting. I bought a 300d about four months ago now and am enjoying it(when it starts- damned glow plugs). I purchased it for $750 and it is rough but I've had a lot worse and mean it. Will post some before pictures and when I get done with you all will be amazed. Any suggestions on working on it myself from a technical matter?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-02-2006, 07:22 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Sep 2004
Vehicle: 2014 E250 Bluetec 4-Matic, 1983 240D 4-Speed
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
RE: Hi everyone first time here

Check into the Diesel forums here and on ***************** to get a handle on what owning one of these beasts is all about. Really great machines, but after twenty years, you may have a great machine still, with another twenty years in it, or one problem after another. With simple, but regular oil, oil filter and air intake filter changes, and valve adjustments these things can be virtually indestructable.

I would start out with a change of all the fluids in all the systems on the vehicle. Engine oil, brake fluid, power steering fluid, transmission and differential fluid. Use good quality replacements fluids that are "sanctioned" by MB, or a good new synthetic fluid. I use Mobil Delvac 1 in all my cars, as well as Redline transmission, differential and power steering fluids. I use Castrol GT LMA DOT 4 brake fluid.