LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-15-2005, 07:53 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Sep 2004
Vehicle: 83 Astral Silver 280 SL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
What historical figure do you find most interesting?

Today is the 140th anniversy of the assasination of Abraham Lincoln. I have been a lifelong student of his life, and consider him the single greatest figure in the history of this country, and one of the greatest men of all time. The idea that all men are truly equal before the law was so revolutionary that it took eighty years from the time it was first proposed by Thomas Jefferson in the Declaration of Independence, and it took 600,000 American lives in the bloodiest war in our history to settle the matter once and for all. It then took another 100 years for it to truly become the law of the land, in our second relatively bloodless civil war of the 1960s. None of this would have been possible without the leadership of this man.

Linclon was also important for another, less discussed reason - he was a giant of American Literature. His clear, logical prose, presented with folksy irony and wit, is written in a timeless style that is still easily readable even today. He was not a novelist or non-fiction writer, he was an essayist of the highest order - his greatest work, the Gettysburg Address, was a mere 250 words or so, and is considered the most powerful statement of national purpose ever written. His other great achievement, the Second Inaugral Address, is a mere few paragraphs, expressing the sorrow and utter remose of war and a desire to forgive one's enemies in a way that still moves people today who read it for the first time. In honor of his passing, I present this speech, a monumental work of the human mind:

Fellow Countrymen: