Date registered: Aug 2004
Vehicle: 2004.5 C 230K SS
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jsloan01
(Thread Starter)
Investment Banking Careers

Hello everyone,

I am writing for advice in regards to careers in investment banking. Being a Mercedes-Benz owner, I thought the MB forums would be a great resource on this subject since some of you are very successful and may (or may have) worked in this field.

Let me first give you some background on myself:

I am a college student graduating in April 2006 from the University of Pittsburgh, College of Business Administration. I am double majoring in Finance and Accounting and presently hold a 4.0/4.0 GPA.

While school is important, so is work experience. I started off with internships in the music industry in NYC (Universal), spent three summers with MBUSA and presently intern for a venture capital firm, iNetworks, in Pittsburgh.

It has been tough to get face time with firms. Fortunately, I have been able to network my way into a few firms from my previous work experience. I am confident I am going to have a few interviews next month with some very large investment banks in New York City.

I was wondering if anyone had advice on the interviews. I know the interviews are extremely difficult and I am fighting an uphill battle since I am not from a typical targeted school. That being said, Pitt is a great school, I feel I am getting a superb education and I am confident I can surpass my competition.

I have been spending my time reading a few books:
• Fast Track: A Guide to Careers in Investment Banking and Management Consulting
• Damodaran on Valuation: Security Analysis for Investment and Corporate Finance
• New Options Market

I am hungry for this opportunity. I have sacrificed so much to get here. These interviews have the potential to be life changing.

I am imagining I am going to be asked some technical questions. Does anyone have advice on material to brush up on before the interview?