Vehicle: 1985 500SEC, 1991 190E 2.6.
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
(Thread Starter)
Living History: Niki Lauda’s accident – August 1, 1976

Living History: Niki Lauda’s accident – August 1, 1976 | The Race Driver

Living History: Niki Lauda’s accident – August 1, 1976

August 1, 2011 – Peter Windsor re-lives the race that changed F1 forever.

Zolder, May 15. 4:30 pm

Niki Lauda is flopped in a corner of his personal caravan, tape recorders in front of him, journalists around him. He wishes to explain the reasons why he doesn’t want to race at the Nurburgring until the circuit is drastically changed. “Here, at Zolder, I have for instance a 70 per cent chance of getting killed if I have a crash, if something goes wrong on my car. I am a racing driver. I am aware that there will always be accidents, and that someone could easily get killed at Zolder. But at least there is some chance of survival if something does go wrong. At the Nurburgring there is no chance. It’s 100 per cent at the Nurburgring. Why should Zolder exist to one standard and the Nurburgring to another? We have safety programmes at all the circuits for more run-off areas and catch frences. Why should the Nurburgring be different? Because it’s such a famous circuit? Which is more important? One driver showing his class over another because it’s the Nurburgring or drivers getting killed? I think it’s the accidents.”

Nurburgring, Friday, July 30. Afternoon

Whatever his feelings about the Nurburgring’s safety, Lauda is oblivious to them now. Like other practice sessions before, this on is already developing into a James Hunt-Niki Lauda duel. Neither man things sub-7 min laps are possible – the Paul Ricard-compound Goodyears have seen to that and to a total absence of punctures – but both are teasing the threshold. Hunt winds up quickest, and afterwards admits to being plain scared on at least one-third of the circuit: