Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Q&A with Lewis Hamilton

503 views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  gerkebi 
#1 ·
Lewis Hamilton discusses last year's controversial Aussie GP, his team-mate Jenson Button and the Bahrain GP among other things.

Q. Welcome to Sydney. How are you enjoying it so far?
LH: "It's great to be here. I arrived at 6 o'clock this morning from the States. It's my first time in Sydney so I'm really happy to be here. Unfortunately, I'm only here for a few hours but I've been out on the harbor already so I feel I've seen a lot already."

Q. How does it rate being behind the wheel of a yacht compared to a Formula 1 car?
LH: "I've had a little bit of experience before sailing. In 2008 with Hugo Boss I sailed around the Isle of Wight in a yachting event for four hours and we won. But we got disqualified at the end because we crashed at the beginning. But that wasn't when I was driving. It was great to be on the harbor today and back on one of those boats again. I have an understanding how to steer them so I had some fun. But it is nothing like a Formula 1 car. Nothing is like that."

Q. What better place, than Sydney Harbor on a yacht, than to spend your first few hours in this city?
LH: "Absolutely. When I was flying over this morning I was wondering if I was arriving in the right place. I only know Australia to have clear blue skies and there was a lot of cloud as we were coming in to land. But it's cleared up and it's beautiful, and a beautiful day on the harbor."

Q. I want to ask you about last year. You were in a pretty bad place last year and you wouldn't necessarily like to remember it. But you have said it was an incredible year and a year that threw up a lot of challenges. What's the feeling going into this year?