post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-28-2013, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Veteran

Date registered: Nov 2006
Vehicle: 2003 S500, 1983 300SD
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Found a way to very accurately diagnose our cars

So, I just figured out a way to take all of the guesswork and trial and error out of fixing any car with OBDII and would like to share it with the community. After we get this going members of the community will never undergo unnecessary repairs again. Explanation:

I'm a PhD student in political science, which entails a great deal more statistics and calculus than one would think. We use fancy statistical software which with the proper training is capable of making incredible inferences about complex questions about human interaction. Using the same methods to make inferences about mechanics is very, very straightfoward. My diagnostic saves data in excel format, which I imported into Stata. What I found in 30 seconds would have normally have taken a professional a decent little bit of looking at outputs in real time (if they actually went so far to do so, which I have never heard of a mechanic doing)

The implication is that by logging data and subjecting it to processes similar to those used in the social sciences there is no longer a reliance of guessing what vague DTCs could mean and then eyeballing real time outputs. It is possible to hold factors constant (such as driving conditions or region of the world) which takes all of the guesswork out of diagnosis. By comparing a logs on cars operating properly with that of one that is running rough or making a sound, within a minute we can say "this is exactly what is different, this is what it is causing". Further, with a database of what members' solutions were we can go one step further and say "this is the fix".