Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

C230 Will not start

535 views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  eric242340 
#1 ·
Hello everyone, my name is Joshua. This is my first time owning a MB. So far i love it. It drives me great. I have the 2002 C230K.
Two days ago, i was coming back from California and i went up the hill and when i was coming down my engine died on me. I allowed it to cool down and i opened the hood and opened the radiator. The radiator was boiling and some smoke coming out of it. I allowed it to cool down and i added some water(was out of coolant) just to get me to the next gas station. I waited for an hr and tried it and it didn't start. It didn't sound like that was any pressure coming out. I checked the oil. It was dark and there was no sign of mixture of oil and coolant. I got it towed to the nearest mechanic. He checked the plugs and there was oil in it.

Did anyone have the same problem? and what was the problem? The mechanic thinks i have a blown head gasket. Also why did all my coolant leak out. It only leak when it is driving. The mechanic is going to open the engine soon.

Thanks for any help i can get from you guys. I am also a newbies :)

#2 ·
Firstly welcome to Benzworld.

You are very lucky you did not seize the engine, when it lost the coolant and in an uphill climb the temp would increase very quickly and moving parts start to expand thus a seize can happen. My guess is blown piston rings hence the oil on the plugs and possibly a warped cylinder head and blown gasket, but we will not know until your mechanic pulls the engine down.

As to the leak it could have been from hundreds of places on this engine type.

I hope in future you will pay attention to your instruments as they are there to warn you of any problems, too many people only look at the fuel guage/rev counter/speedo.

#3 ·
Thanks Eric for your reply.