Considering a W140 S500 in the future - as a do-it-your-selfer - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 01-17-2013, 03:21 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Jan 2013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Considering a W140 S500 in the future - as a do-it-your-selfer

Hello folks,

I'm currently a student nurse with two semesters remaining - I finish up this December and I'll be an RN. For the past 4 years, I've been working on the Volkswagen TDI's, from the 96-2012 models. I've done engine rebuilds, clutch jobs, wheel bearings, cv joints, shocks, front main oil seals, timing belts, turbo replacements & lower power diagnostics, interior swap on the TDI's in the years from 96~2005. I've pretty much done it all on these cars, and I've ventured into the gas passats as well and found them not so much of a challenge than just time consuming. I enjoy working in the garage - and not just because of th money - I do feel a sense of accomplishment and it's nice to make peoples cars run properly and give them the attention they deserve. I currently own a 96 Passat TDI w/ 337,000 miles, and a 2003 Jettawagon TDI with 238,000 miles - both run great and have been taken care of very well. Just to give you an idea of my background in automotive repair, I apprenticed under a guy who has been repairing TDI's for many years - before that he trained men my age on how to repair planes in the Navy. I've done repairs I was never trained on because I was trained very well.