BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jul 2012
Vehicle: 1997 SL500, 1999 SLK230K
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Post New 1993 400sel owner

Hey guys! Ive been frequenting these forums for about a month now. Love the site! My names Kyle and Im new to MB. Well as it normally goes, Im running into issues and have made an account to ask some (hopefully not already answered) questions. I do my best to read and research before creating a new thread.. So here goes. Thanks ahead of time.

I recently acquired a 1993 400sel. Found it under a tree in an impound lot for 1k. After replacing the battery and driver window, Ive been ironing out the kinks..

Knowing the CAN in these cars are a SERIOUS issue so Ive checked as much out as I can get my hands and eyes on. there are (so far) zero visible issues.

When i took it home it was in limp home mode. after some reading and checking around, Ive since gotten the car to start in the morning NOT in lhm.(only after sitting all night) That said, Ive think Ive boiled it down to the ETA (it will run fine for about a half hour before kicking into lhm.) Ive had the base module and ASR computers apart and cleaned. Kickdown is unplugged at the trans, so thats eliminated. Throttle cable is adjusted properly too.

Next was wipers had no movement. Took apart the combo relay and cleaned the contacts on the relays. Only high speed started working. Then found out the main arm was snapped in half?? Had it welded back together and have wipers, no self park tho. Im gonna have to get a new combo relay and go from there.

The next on the list was the exterior lamp switch. It needs replacing.( ive taken the switch apart and have confirmed the lights to work all the way around)( a completely cleaned out switch without the plunger in it will illuminate all circuits if plugged in) Only thing left in this department is the 3rd brake light not illuminating, but thats an easy fix and the least of my worries atm.