LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 06-26-2012, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
Date registered: Jun 2012
Vehicle: SLK 230 2003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Smile Let me introduce myself and my SLK 230!

Hi everybody! It's so good I'm over here! Let me introduce myself.

I go by "Jayson". Currently I'm a student majoring in CIS (Computer Information Systems) in University of Houston, Texas.

I own a small "sweetheart". Yeah, that's what I call her - my 2003 SLK 230 (Black color). Got her 3 years ago off the dealership when she was 85,000 miles old. Now she's a little over 115,000. I'm the 2nd owner and I do cherish and love it! (Previous owner also must have liked her!) My wife also fell in love with that beauty! Never had any serious issues with it. She's a little capricious but hey, she's over 100k now :-)
I do hand polish and wax it every 3 months. Grease all the rubbers. In this Texas heat they do dry out fast...+ black color, you should understand me, people =)

The issues I was able to fix using this forum are:
1. (ESP light kept coming on) had to replace a stop lamp switch behind the brake pedal.
2. Replaced the stock radio with Sony one (CD changer started stammering on road bumps)
3. Changed all the brake pads. (Really easy job. 40 mins)
4. Soldered my power seat adjustment relay yesterday. Had 5 cracked connections =( I guess because of heat and vibrations. Works fine for now. Hope it will continue to serve. ($2 solder vs. $45 relay =))
5. Replaced the dashboard lights. ($6.79 a pair + 1 hour of work vs. $150 at an authorized service center) Expensive, right?
6. Regular maintenance, like oil change, coolant flush, etc.
7. Cleaned the car battery from oxidation. (Baking soda + some vinegar and a toothbrush - astonishing effect! + applied grease to protect from future oxidation).

What I'm planning to do: