2nd post. Advice on hill start with manual box & foot park brake... - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Jan 2012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
2nd post. Advice on hill start with manual box & foot park brake...

This is my 2nd post, I thought I would let my self go with 2 at once...

Just bought a 59 plate (2009) CLC 180 Kompressor with Manual gearbox...its the best car I have owned by far...

I have been driving for many years and have driven hundreds of makes and models as I have worked for several main car dealerships but I have never come across this foot operated parking brake system until now...

This will have been asked bofore many times I am sure but nothing comes up in a search on here...

My query is...how do you juggle the 4 pedals and hand brake release to best effect on a very steep hill with cars in front and close behind without straining the handbrake or slipping the clutch ?

I can see how it would be ok and nice and easy in an auto, you just switch from park to drive and then release the foot brake presumably but it seems so hard to get used to in a manual car...

I am a very experienced driver but I havent got used to it yet, you have to find the biting point until the nose of the car lifts up...this must be straining the parking brake mechanism so I try not to overdo it... I let the brake off by hand and it rolls back and nearly hits the car behind...I Jam the brake back on again with my clutch foot... rev it up again till the bonnet rises up a bit more this time... let the handbrake off by hand.. this time it lurches off the lights like you are at santa pod and you risk hitting the car in front...