post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-19-2011, 08:55 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Oct 2011
Vehicle: '98 E320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Cool They see me rollin'...

Wooo! Alright, new member, previous lurker, new (old) 98 E320 owner!

Just got a 1998 E320, so far from what I can say it's been kept in mint condition. 123k miles, no body damage whatsoever, interior is impeccable, and I keep finding neat new features every time I climb in
Needless to say, I'm ecstatic. Not a single person gonna get to drive that thing but me

So that's my car, a bit about me is that I'm a tech geek, always have always been. Modding things have been my passion, just to see how everything works, and then tweak to my likings. I'm also into cars, by that I mean I know what most of the parts do and what they are, where they are, etc. Not the level of a mechanic though, just a slightly knowledgable hands-on person is what I like to think of. Ask me to replace your timing chain and I might have to look it up, but otherwise I could handle replacing wiring, most parts (o2, alt, etc) that come needing repair and I got it.

So, just got it last night, about to go jump outside in the daylight and check it out. One thing that I noticed is (of course) it had some get-up-and-go to it The other thing I noticed is that it seems as if I could get a lot more power out of it's like the power was there before just that it's gotten lazy over the years

So one of the first things I'm going to do is of course the standard tune up deal (better oil filter, air filter, flushes, etc), then move to a tint (the glass is hella clear...) but I'm not really experienced with the Benz. I've worked on mostly Toyota/Ford/Honda...
Any pointers as to where I could start to restore some of the old power to the engine? Any parts MB is known for needing replacement after a certain number of years/miles that lead to engine-ware, and a power decrease?