BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Jun 2011
Vehicle: 2003 CLK 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Car Stereo Swap

Hi everyone I am a total newbie, so please be gentle...lol
I just bought a 2003 CLK500, beautiful car, what a machine. BUT, I want to upgrade the stereo. I want to take out the cassette deck and cd changer and put something in with Bluetooth and ipod integration. I am told the unit is fiberoptic making this very difficult. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I would really appreciate it!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-24-2011, 11:05 AM
BenzWorld Veteran

Date registered: Jun 2009
Vehicle: 1991 300E
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-24-2011, 02:44 PM
BenzWorld Veteran

Date registered: Mar 2006
Vehicle: 2005 CL65 AMG, 2007 Ferrari F430
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
You can put in any head unit with a proper kit. We have them, and several other places have them (probably online only though, as it is a specialty item). If your car has the COMAND Nav system, you will need to replace the amplifier (and possibly spekaers if not matched properly). You will also need to wire from head unit to amp.
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-24-2011, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

(Thread Starter)
I will be in the Atlanta area with the car next weekend. My family lives in the Lawrenceville / Dacula area. Is this something you stock? If so, I just may visit you and see what we can come up with. I really appreciate the information. I was getting nowhere here in my hometown. Was hearing nothing but horror stories.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-24-2011, 07:07 PM
BenzWorld Veteran

No, not something we stock in Atlanta (as Americans rarely are interested in full modification of a Mercedes). We do stock it in Europe.