LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-23-2010, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Dec 2010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
01 E320 Wagon Questions

I am throwing myself at the mercy of the forums for a little bit of advice. I am a brand new Mercedes Benz owner and new forum member.

I have been looking for an MB Wagon with 3rd row seating for quite some time. I got a call from a friend in the car business on Monday and he offered me a trade in for what he had in it. Here is what I got:

2001 E320 Wagon with 60,800 mi. The carfax indicated 2 owners (sale at 14K mi) regular maintenance at the original dealer and some minor body work on the drivers door.

I have many questions about what work I should take to a shop and what work I should try myself. I am fairly handy (I was a diesel mechanic in the Air Force). I am looking for a 150,000 to 200,000 mi ownership / 6 to 8 years for my wife. I have access to a trusted independent/non-dealer Benz shop close to me.

Here is what I have found so far on the car and some questions:

1. The bottom edge of the front windshield gasket/trim-the edge closest to the hood is cracking deteriorated. Is this common. What is a good replacement strategy (myself or shop) or should I leave it alone until it leaks.

2. The front passenger door does not lock. The inside knob does not actuate by power or hand. ( How hard is it to get the door panel off? Where can I get parts?

3. I only have on key/remote fob. Is this an OEM only part. How much? Where do I get it programmed?

4. The factory Navigation Sys only has one disk (#8). Are these for updates only? Is Ebay an OK source?

5. Any suggested initial preventative maintenance items other than Lube, Oil and Filter and a trans fluid check?

6. The buttons on the steering wheel (volume/menu, etc) have some sort of sticky, gooey deteriation of the finish or something. Is this common and what can I do about it.