post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Apr 2010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Post E or C class

Hi guys,

I am new to this site and I am also new to Mercedes. I'm about to buy a car and I decided to get a Benz. Problem is, I love cars but I'm not good on the technical part, performance, features etc. My budget is around 10 grand, and I can't decide between a 2001 C Class model (by that I mean the model that cam out in 2001. I could also be a 2002, 2003 model as well if it fits the budget) or a 1999 E Class. The E class has an "older" style to it, wich makes the C stand out as nicer, but then again, An E is superior to a C in performance (I don't now by how much though). I am also very interested in the sound system. Does the E class offer a better sound system than the C? If it does, how much would changing the system of a C to match that of an E would cost me. Aslo I would appreciate if someone would tell me the pro's and con's of both C and E. I know E would probably run me more gas and more insurance (not sure about the insurance part). I also want it to be a 4Matic, I live in Quebec and we have a lot of snow to deal with.
Thank you!
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 04:33 PM
BenzWorld Elite
Date registered: May 2005
Vehicle: '07 GL320CDI
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
All Mercedes receive a "facelift" about 1/2-2/3 through their life and this is a general cleanup and mild restyle and for the most part it's always better to get the later version.

The C-class you're looking at is a W203 and that was facelifted in 2004 and the E-class you're looking at is a W210, and they were facelifted for the 2000 model year.