post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-08-2010, 02:36 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Jan 2010
Vehicle: MB B170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Disable front passanger airbag MB B170 -2006

I need to disable for child seat on front passenger seat. I heard it's quite simple and anybody can do it, but how? Thanks for assistance in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-08-2010, 02:46 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: May 2005
Vehicle: '07 GL320CDI
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
If you install a "Babysmart" seat purchased from Mercedes it will automatically disable the airbag.

Kent Christensen
Albuquerque
'07 GL320CDI
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-09-2010, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkchris View Post
If you install a "Babysmart" seat purchased from Mercedes it will automatically disable the airbag.
Thanks Kent. I studied few test reports here in Finland, unfortunately MB's own seats got quite poor rating, and therefore I am getting another model

Markus
Helsinki, Finland
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-09-2010, 01:06 PM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Dec 2005
Vehicle: 222.132 & 221.122 & 212.025 & 906.633
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
If I were concerned about the safety of a newborn kid, I would not transport him/her at the front seat and then the passenger airbag would not be an issue.

Where did you hear it would be simple and anyone would be able to do it? At least the two of us obviously cannot. I'd leave rumours aside in an important topic like this.

You would feel sorry if an adult was sitting at the passenger seat and the car faced an accident (could be someone else's fault). Would you be sure that no adult would sit at the front passenger seat after you removed the airbag?