post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Member
Date registered: Mar 2009
Vehicle: 1987 300D Turbo (RIP), 1995 E420, 1993 400E
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
MB Fanatic Back in the Game

After nearly 2 years without a Benz, I'm back!

I was first introduced to MBs back in 2001 when I picked up a very nice '87 300D Turbo from a co-worker. The car was cosmetically great - the engine was pretty good too, but with 300K on the clock, the suspension had seen better days. More clunking than I cared for. Eventually got all that sorted.

I put a 100K on the car with no issues. As a newbie, I was enamored with the engineering in this car. I was amazed at how well the old 300D with over 400K drove compared to cars with less than 1/4 the mileage. It was also ridiculously frugle. On a trip to Michigan clipping along at 80+, we averaged 35mpg! NOT BAD!

Eventually, work forced me to take a company car, and the old girl sat unused, under a cover in a storage lot. One day, I went to check up on her, and noticed that the coolant resevoir was empty, and there was oil everywhere. Not sure what happened, couldn't trace the leaks, etc. Upon further examination, the engine was frozen in place, and the fuel tank had ruptured. I nearly wept. I ended up donating the car to a local school auto shop.

My next MB,which I bought before we donated the 300D was the E420. My first V8 car (have a V8 Disco II, but that doesn't count)! Again, I was amazed with the quality, feel, and speed of this car. Being a newer model, I noticed the little engineering upgrades that the MB engineers made to the vernerable W124 since my '87 oil burner rolled off the line.