BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Aug 2008
Vehicle: 1974 Mercedes-Benz 450 SLC, C107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
A quick hello from a French 450 SLC owner

Hello everybody!

I'm French and I love Mercedes-Benz since a long time, especially the older ones. I'm studying law (in fact in few weeks I should be a lawyer).

Recently I decided to buy a splendid 1974 450 SLC, with only 138.000kms on the clock, in a very good shape. It has only few minor rust points. It's absolutely beautiful...

I'm completely astonished by the car. It's yellow, with a cream leather interior, 14" alloys, electrical sunroof, windows and antenna, headlights-wipers, A/C, centralized condemnation of the doors-boot-fuel door...

The motor is a dream. Smooth, powerful, quite responsive and very torquey, it makes an addictive growling noise at idle... The first gear is a bit long, but after that the car is impressively fast. The kickdown is perfect and the gearbox is very smooth and fast.
The suspensions are just great, surprisingly firm but vastly comfortable... All the electric functions are working perfectly, but the rear side windows are very slow and can't retract more than a half. The front ones, as well as the sunrof, are fast and silent. The heater is very quick, and even the A/C seems to work!

Only things are a quite big play in the steering (but the steering itself works smoothly and regularly) and a siren-like noise coming from the rear (rear axle or diff surely) between 60 and 80 km/h.

The mpg is a bit frightening, but I changed the oil from motor,gearbox and direction (slightly leaking BTW) as well as the spark plugs so it should increase slightly.