BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Jul 2008
Vehicle: 2000 C180 T model
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Suare Eyes C180 - An introduction.

Hi All,
I'm new to Mercedes and indeed the concept of Forums (fora?) as a means of communication, so please bear with me.

I've been driving Japanese cars for all of my motoring life, with the exception of a dire experience with Volkswagen in the 1980’s, and have found them to be cheap, reliable, economic and sometimes fast, very fast. Needless to say, I was quite happy to stick to Japanese cars until, to my horror, my son turned twelve last December, gained three shoe sizes overnight and put on a spurt of growth that necessitated me moving my driving seat forward until my nose was becoming flattened from pressing against the windscreen.

That was it. In order to keep my youthful good looks, a bigger car was needed and, after much searching, last May I finally settled on a 2000 C180 T Model with 75000 miles on the clock. Oh! The vast cavernous space was bliss – room for the family, the dog and a load of gear. Enough power to keep a man of my years happy – I’ve given up on the “mid-life crisis” sports cars until I can afford an SL - and of course the added prestige of the three pointed star on the bonnet (“hood” for all you readers across the big pond).