post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-11-2008, 01:16 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Mar 2008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
engine swap ?s

so..... If i totaly mess this up let me know, but here it goes

I recently found an 89' 300E (it was wondering arround my neighborhood like a stray dog) and liberated it from its previous owners. Now that we've established that im new to this era/124 model of Mercedes, my questions are as follows>>>

Is it possible to swap the stock 300E engine for the factory stock 500E? yes i know, why not just buy the whole 500E and not just the engine. My grandfather actualy has just such an engine in factory condition laying arround. If so, is it closer to a direct drop in or would i be better finding an empty 500E rolling chassis? If all this is possible, what kind of performance boost would it give? What are the differences between thse two engines, besides the gas milege

Second, was there a factory turbo made for either the 300E or 500E? would one fit on the other? If not what aftermarket turbos are ok? ive heard that these engines are really quite durable ( except for the valves and guides) and can handle quite a bit of pressure.

Laugh if these ideas are absurd, just trying to explore the potential... thanks for the input
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-11-2008, 07:58 AM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Mar 2008
Vehicle: CLS550 Master Lease, 1990 300zxTT, 2000 camry
Quoted: 1 Post(s)