LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 06:57 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Mar 2006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
4matic transmission service

I'm a newbie here and haven't seen all the posts yet, however, just wondering if anyone has had transmission service, repair etc on a 4matic. I have a 1999 E-320 wagon with about 75k miles and would like to keep the car but worried about possible tranny problems down the road. I've been told the dealers won't rebuild, they will only replace. Apparantly the cost isn't pretty. Any other 4matic warning will be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 07:45 AM
BenzWorld Member
Date registered: May 2005
Vehicle: 89 300E 4Matic.
RE: 4matic transmission service

Havent yet hear of a single problem on the 4matic. One guy said beware, its gonna cost when it wears out. Sure it will, BUT...when is that, at a half a million miles?? The S had tranny problems, heavy car. My Rolls Royce 1977 Silver Shadow in Hong Kong had a new tranny every 100K miles, but that beast weighed many tons, and the box was a standard GM truck tranny.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-26-2006, 08:23 AM
BenzWorld Elite
Date registered: Jul 2003
Vehicle: 01 SLK 320 MT6

Make sure you do tranny flush every 30-60K and it will last long time.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-27-2006, 06:29 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Mar 2006
(Thread Starter)

Thanks for the comments. It was the one part of the car I was concerned with, especially being a sealed unit. I am going to see if the aftermarket guys can do the tranny flush as I don't think one has been done as yet. I know there will be problems from time to time, but I didn't want $5000 plus repairs on a 6 year old car.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-27-2006, 09:48 AM
BenzWorld Member
Date registered: Aug 2005
Vehicle: 2002 E320 Wagon, 2002 ML320