LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-06-2006, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
Date registered: Jan 2006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Importance of Service Records ???

Hi all. I'm new to MB's and new to this forum. I've been reading the posts on as many forums as I could find and I like this one best !!
I am considering buying a 1988 300E with 155K miles, unsure of service records at this point.
I understand and completely agree that it would be best to buy a MB with complete or at least partial service records. However, that is not always an option. Can you play "catch up" with the maintenance? What all is done during all that servicing?
For instance, the MB I'm looking at runs great, but I can't see passing up on a car just because of no records(won't be afraid to pass on it either) I guess that is where a PPI would be invaluable.
The dealer let me take it out for an entire day and told me to keep it overnight to test it. I found some things wrong that he's supposedly repaired. He told me to take it all this weekend to test again.
Any comments will be welcome. I'm handy around cars and am able to do much of my own tune ups, general repairs and maintenenace etc...
Thanks much, Bill
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-07-2006, 12:20 AM
slightly creased
Date registered: Sep 2005
Vehicle: 1988 420 SE; 2008 ML 500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
RE: Importance of Service Records ???

If the car has service records - fantastic. Unfortunately, few cars of that vintage will have them (you may fluke on one).

A PPI is without doubt the best thing you can get done before buying a used car - best $100 or so you will spend.

That and reading up on issues on sites like this one.

Cheers and good luck!

beware of fundamentalists

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-07-2006, 01:53 AM
BenzWorld Veteran
Date registered: Apr 2004
Vehicle: None

I second what 420 said.