LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-03-2005, 05:17 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Jul 2005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Please recommend

Hello all! I am just starting out here. I live in Michigan with sometimes harsh winters and need opinions on which are better/safer for my teenage drivers: the 4matic or a E320 with traction control. Thanks for any advice. Or possibly a different line?
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-03-2005, 08:24 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie
Date registered: Jul 2005
(Thread Starter)
RE: Please recommend

I found a '99 E320 with Traction control and 77K miles with an available "Eagle Warranty". Any comments?
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-03-2005, 09:19 AM
BenzWorld Member
Date registered: Dec 2004
Vehicle: 300TE 4-Matic 300GD
RE: Please recommend

Hi kjjust.

If choosing between the two you listed, I would go for the E320. The reason is simple.

The 4-Matic on a well working vehicle with good tyres, gives a false impression on stopping conditions. Great traction does not necessarily mean great breaking. The fact that it was a cinch to get up, doesn't guarantee a problem free decending the same way, and so on. It is necessary to keep that ballast in the back of the head, always. I would say it takes a certain degree of matureness to be able to handle a 4-Matic properly.

Also wallet wise. It didn't take long time before my young son found out this. If you take it out on an ice lake, put her in a moderate power slide, and punch real hard, the needle rushes up towards 240 and the driver can choose between an impressive pirouette or butterfly. Accompanied with a cat screaming M103, it's a nightmare come true for an owner to even concider. Just think about all that torque shifting for and aft. And risk.