LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-27-2005, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jun 2005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to sqkr Send a message via Yahoo to sqkr
(Thread Starter)
1984 300SD .... Problems and I need help.

[:(] Sadly, Buttercup (yes I named my car) seems to have a list of never ending problems. Currently, my biggest problem is the beading in the tires and the over wearing of tires which were in the front but have been rotated to the rear.

Also, my seat- is posessed. It moves on its own and despite the grand efforts (multiple visits) the mechanics cannot seem to figure it out. So, the solution appears to be disconnecting the seat.

Now, the thing is, I'm a student, I'm a girl, and I cannot express to my father that I really wanted soemthing that wasn't going to break down on the roadside leaving me stranded. Yes, it's a great car, yes, it's wonderful on the highways and such, but, I drive in town. Where my "tank" is less than agile and rather frustrating as it shakes at stoplights and other odd behaviors.

The real question: is it worth it? There seem to be endless repairs needing to be made and I know that the moment I'm left to pay for the car- I will never be able to afford it! How can I approach this with my family? Because I brought it up, but I don't think anyone sees how much it may be to make this car run! We've already delt with many issues- and after a while, I'm not so sure....

Any thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-28-2005, 08:50 AM
gzt
BenzWorld Junior Member

Vehicle: ML320, S430
RE: 1984 300SD .... Problems and I need help.

its a pretty old vehicle.

1. tire wear - it may indicate the front geometry is off. It is a common thing for such old vehicle. You may check with a good mechanic to verify/correct it - the whole geometry - not just allignement