BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: May 2003
Vehicle: 300TD Turbo Diesel
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
300TD electrical problem

Hey, guys!
I have a 1981 300TD (wagon) with a weird electrical problem. Every now & then, the fuel guage will twitch, which blows the horn fuse. Sometimes it also effects the speedo as if it's possessed. Sometimes with this going on, it will causethe turn signals to freeze, but hitting the brake will stop it. What is going on?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-08-2004, 08:33 PM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Dec 2003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
RE: 300TD electrical problem

I'm no electrician so take it for what it's worth. Basic troubleshooting rules always apply and one of the first is that one indication may have nothing to do with another. You may have multiple problems. I doubt the amperage necessary to operate the gauge can blow a significant fuse like the horn fuse. Likely, you're seeing the failure of the fuse as a twitch in the gauge. What other functions are served by that fuse? Is there a problem with any of those components before the fuse blows? Also, the fact you must place your foot on the brake pedal to get the turn signals to function indicates you probably have a bad ground somewhere.