#1 (permalink) Old 04-03-2002, 11:21 AM
Brian

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
280G, what is it worth?

Hello all,<br>
<br>
I'm new here (no sh#t, eh?), and have a question regaurding a 84 - 85 (not quite sure on the year)280G that is forsale near me. 21,000 miles, has engine problems, possibly blown engine. Summer and winter tops (soft and hard?), manual trans, dark red body had some work done - fenders repaired, body resprayed. I've been repairing and modding german cars for 10+ years, so an engine R&R would be no problem for me (or would it?)<br>
<br>
He offered the vehicle to me for $10k USD. Would anyone say this is a good deal, even considering the limited info I gave?<br>
<br>
Thanks,<br>
<br>
Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 04-03-2002, 11:31 AM
Alan

Re: 280G, what is it worth?

Just curious Brian, whereabouts are you?
#3 (permalink) Old 04-03-2002, 11:44 AM
Brent

If it is not running and has been crashed and repaired(how well), I wouldn't pay $10k. You can probably find a nice running truck for 15-20k. At $7k you are leaving room to make repairs. That is assuming the tops are in good condition and the truck is not rusty. I would bet that it is far from 21k miles, probably 121 or 221. Something would have to be seriously amiss to blow the engine at 21k.
#4 (permalink) Old 04-03-2002, 01:48 PM
Brian

Alan, I'm located in western Massachusetts.<br>
<br>
Not crashed, rust repair on fenders. Owner claims it was stored for 10+ years in a barn... Been out on the road again for for 6 years.<br>
<br>
I need to have a looksie in the flesh to get a real idea of what kind of mileage it has done.<br>
<br>
Thanks,<br>
<br>
Brian<br>
01 Audi S4 Avant
#5 (permalink) Old 04-03-2002, 02:33 PM
Brent