Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

W209 CLK Maintenance / Repair / PPI Index -- Consult this thread before posting!

121K views 26 replies 24 participants last post by  rudeney 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Greetings All! Welcome to the BenzWorld W209 CLK Forum.

It's past time (2011) that this forum had a general tech index / pre-purchase inspection checklist. So I've volunteered to establish one. The CLK is a great car and we're making this a great forum for it.

As late-model Mercedes go the W209 CLK models--both coupes (C209) and convertibles (A209)--are relatively bulletproof, partly because they don't have extremely complex systems such as the 'Active Body Control' electro-hydraulic suspension or 'Airmatic' air suspension as on the costlier models. In addition to their durability, moreover, the CLK models may be said to hit a 'sweet spot' in the Luxury-Sports continuum that few other cars can match.

But I'm not an expert on these cars, so I need to rely upon the knowledge of you regulars here. Eric, Keyhole, Rudeney and many others have provided tremendous assistance over the years and I hope everyone will help out when they can.

To start off, we're collecting threads and posts which pertain to the most significant repair issues on these cars, such as convertible hydraulics, balance-shaft cams, etc. Then I think we should probably congregate all of the maintenance stickies into a general thread which indexes them (here) as the main forum page was beginning to get sticky-heavy.

So please either PM me with links to the information you have found most useful or simply post them in this thread. I'll take care of organization and clean-up. Feel free also to make suggestions of any kind. We're all here to help one another.

Much of this information should also be useful to those looking to purchase CLKs too. NOTE that the balance-shaft issues are scary but still fairly rare, so mostly a concern for those considering purchases at this point.